Some of our past heroes!

One of the regular features of the Walk is the annual presentation of the St. Gianna Molla award for Pro-Life Heroism. The award is named after the 20th century Italian wife, mother, and pediatrician Dr. Gianna Molla who chose to give birth rather than undergo a medical treatment that would result in the death of her unborn daughter. It is given to a person or group who have displayed unusual courage and fidelity to the pro-life cause. Past honorees include David Bereit, founder of 40 Days for Life, now in 1000 cities and 63 countries around the world; Joe Schieldler, ‘the Godfather of the Pro-Life Movement’; Walter Hoye, II, unjustly imprisoned for exercising his First Amendment rights; and Fr. John Malloy, first Chaplain of the Walk. This year’s surprise honoree, a nationally known figure, will not be announced until the presentation of the award. Be there or tune in to EWTN to see who it is!